Guided tours are held every Sat. at 10 am during July and August starting from the Archives Room at 20 Bayfield Main St. Includes Bayfield’s heritage district, tree-lined streets, and harbour views. A new self-guided booklet is also available.Lake Huron has played a vital role in the history of Bayfield. In 1832, Baron van Tuyll van Serooskerken, a Dutch nobleman, purchased large holdings in the Huron Tract including 388 acres at the mouth of the Bayfield River for a settlement. The hamlet developed first as an agricultural supply centre. In the 1840’s Bayfield was a busy shipping port for the export of grain. After rail arrived in the 1860s, the town became a fishing centre. As the community prospered, hotels, stores and many fine residences were built. Many remain. For more information visit: www.bayfieldhistorical.ca.
Goderich is fortunate to have hundreds of beautiful and unique locations of natural/cultural heritage significance. Stroll the historic streets and waterfront of this port town following one or all of
the Heritage Walking Tours.The “4 Heritage Walking Tours” docket covers magnificent harbour and river mouth views; 19th and 20th century properties, 2 railway stations, historic commercial area; and many architecturally
and historically significant locations. “Historic Downtown Goderich” is a brochure map covering 65 acres of urban hiking surrounding a central park and octagonal town square. Twenty-eight blocks make up 6 kilometers of compact streetscape for this shopping, business, civic, arts and entertainment hub. Explore the boardwalk and port’s marine past and present by following the “Marine Heritage Walking Tour.” Walking Tours can be downloaded at www.goderich.ca .
Although, Brussels officially became a village in 1872, it began as the village of Ainleyville in 1855. William Ainlay, a surveyor for the Canada Company, first came to the area in 1852 and felt the waterpower provided by the Maitland River and the rich, deep, untouched soil beneath the canopy of trees made the site a good one.The village of Ainleyville, so named after Ainlay, but misspelled by the recording clerk, began in the southeast part of the present day village. Brussels soon grew into a prosperous community with
its own railway station, many local industries, several churches and community groups, and a main street of fine brick blocks. Many of the commercial blocks, which presently line its main thoroughfare, Turnberry Street, were constructed after more than one devastating fire swept through the village. We invite you to tour our quaint historic downtown and stunning residential areas. Tour map can be downloaded at: www.huroneast.com.
Seaforth is a quintessential small Ontario town, dating back to the Victorian period during the years 1850-1853. Anticipating the construction of the railroad, Christopher and George Sparling acquired most of the present site of Seaforth, situated along Provincial Hwy 8, also referred to as the Kitchener-
Stratford-Goderich corridor.We invite you to take a tour of Seaforth beginning at Victoria Park and circling through Town, finally ending at the Cardno Music Hall and Clock Tower on Main Street. Along the way, you will pass sixteen municipally-designated heritage properties and take in Seaforth’s Downtown, one of the oldest designated Heritage Conservation Districts in Ontario. Tour map can be downloaded at: www.huroneast.com.